What to Know
- Unblock someone on Instagram by finding their profile and tapping Unblock.
- You can view a list of the profiles you blocked by going to your profile page and selecting Settings > Privacy > Blocked Accounts.
- If someone deleted their account after you blocked them, you can't interact with their listing on the blocked list.
This article explains how to unblock a user's profile on Instagram. The instructions apply to the latest version of the Instagram mobile app and the desktop website.
How to Unblock Someone on the Instagram App
To remove someone from your list of blocked users on Instagram using the Instagram app for all supported versions of iOS (iPad and iPhone), Android (Samsung, Google, etc.) and Windows, follow these steps:
Find the blocked user in Instagram.
You can use the Accounts tab from the search bar to isolate the search to user accounts only.
Tap the profile you want to unblock.
Tap Unblock and confirm that you truly want to unblock the user.
Now you can see the user's profile where you can choose to Follow them if you like.
Unblock Someone Using Instagram on the Web
To unblock a user using the Instagram website on a computer with your desktop web browser:
Visit Instagram on the web in your browser.
Log on to your Instagram account if you are not yet logged in.
Type the username of the account or name of the person you want to unblock.
Now select the desired user from the auto-complete suggestions.
Instagram may show the user account as unavailable. In this case, you need to unblock the account using the Instagram app for iOS or Android; see above.
Select Unblock and confirm that you truly want to unblock the user.
That's it! Now you can follow the user you just unblocked on Instagram.
View a List of Blocked Accounts on Instagram
Yes, Instagram maintains a list of all the profiles you have blocked. To see it in the Instagram app for iOS or Android:
You cannot access the list of blocked users on the Instagram website so you'll need to use the app.
Go to your profile page in Instagram.
Tap the menu button and then select Settings.
Select Privacy and then Blocked Accounts.
Tap any blocked user to get to their profile, where you can unblock them using the instructions above.
This is also useful to unblock users who may have blocked you. However, even though you have unblocked them, they will still have to unblock you on their end.
What Happens When You Unblock Someone
When you unblock an account in Instagram, the restrictions associated with blocking someone are lifted.
- They will be able to find you again using Instagram search.
- They can see your posts and stories again.
- They will be able to follow you again (this will not happen automatically, though).
- They can send you private messages using Instagram Direct again.
The user will not be notified when you unblock them.
How to Follow an Unblocked Instagram Account
If you have blocked someone on Instagram, you have also unfollowed them, and new posts or stories will not appear in your Instagram stream. You also cannot follow a blocked account until you have unblocked it.
To follow the user again after you have unblocked them:
Look for and open the user's profile in Instagram.
This works in the Instagram apps for iOS and Android just as well as it does on the web.
If you stop seeing updates from someone, check if they unfollowed you on Instagram.
Can You Unblock Accounts That No Longer Exist?
Depending on the app or website, it may not be possible to unblock Instagram profiles that have been deleted or removed since you blocked them. Their names will appear on your Blocked Accounts list with no way to interact with them.
If possible, try the Instagram app on a different platform. We have seen Instagram for Android able to unblock users that the Instagram website and iOS app reported as nonexistent or inaccessible.
One thing you can do to avoid stale accounts on your Instagram Blocked Accounts list is reporting suspicious accounts and activity to Instagram (Report > It's spam or Report > It's inappropriate in the user's menu) instead of blocking users that you deem to be fake accounts.
- How can I tell if someone has unblocked me on Instagram?
Instagram won't notify you if you've been unblocked by someone. Instead, search for the profile. If it comes up in the search and you can see their profile, stories, and posts, they've unblocked you.
- How do I know if someone has blocked me on Instagram?
If someone's blocked you, they won't come up when you search for them, and their account will not be visible to you.
- On Instagram, what's the difference between blocking a user and making your profile private?
When you make your Instagram profile private, a user can still find you in a search, but none of your information will display. Rather, they'll find a notice that your profile is private to anyone who doesn't follow them. When you block a user, however, your page will not come up in search results at all when they search for it.
- How Do You Block Someone on Instagram?
You can block people on IG using either the app or a web browser. To block in Instagram app: Go to account page > tap three dots > Block > Block > Dismiss. To block using a web browser: Go to account page > tap three dots > Block this user > Block.