What to Know

  • You can find deleted images in the Photos app by scrolling down to the bottom of the main menu and looking in the Recently Deleted folder.
  • Any images remaining in your Recently Deleted folder can be recovered and added back to your Camera Roll.
  • Images in the Recently Deleted folder longer than 30 days or those deleted from the Recently Deleted folder are unrecoverable.

This article explains how to locate and recover images that have been deleted from your iPhone’s Camera Roll.

Can You Recover Deleted Screenshots on an iPhone?

Yes, you can! When you delete a screenshot or photo from your iPhone’s Camera Roll, it ends up in a specific folder, where it will stay for 30 days before being permanently removed.

  1. Open the Photos app.

  2. Scroll down to the bottom of the menu and tap Recently Deleted.

    Photos app and Recently Deleted on iPhone

  3. All of the photos you’ve deleted in the past 30 days will appear here. At the bottom of each image’s thumbnail, you’ll see how many days a photo has left before being automatically deleted.

  4. Tap an image to view it more closely. Tap Recover to send it back to your Camera Roll.

    Number of days left until photo expires and Recover highlighted in iPhone Photos app

Can I Restore Deleted Screenshots?

You can do this, too. Any previously deleted images in your iPhone’s Recently Deleted folder can be recovered and added back to your Camera Roll.

Restored images will reappear in your Camera Roll relative to when you initially took them. For example, if you recover a picture from two weeks ago, it will appear before images taken a few days ago.

  1. Open the Photos app.

  2. Scroll down to the bottom of the menu and tap Recently Deleted.

    Photos app and Recently Deleted on iPhone

  3. Find the image you want to restore (depending on how long ago the image was deleted, you may have to scroll up to find it). Tap and hold the image to expand the thumbnail.

  4. Tap Recover to immediately send the image back to your Camera Roll. You’ll be able to find it in the Recents folder.

  5. You can tap an image (instead of tapping and holding) to view it more closely. From here, you can pinch to zoom in or out, tap Recover to send it to your Camera Roll, or tap Delete to permanently remove the image from your iPhone (this cannot be undone).

  6. When you tap Recover, a verification button will appear.  Tap Recover Photo to confirm and send the image back to your Camera Roll or tap Cancel to stop recovery.

    Recover and Recover Photo in iPhone Photos app

Are Deleted Screenshots Gone Forever?

Well, yes and no. Images deleted from your iPhone’s Camera Roll will be moved to the Recently Deleted folder but are still accessible for up to 30 days from the time you select Delete.

Once those 30 days have passed, you decide to clear the Recently Deleted folder, or you manually delete an image in that folder, it’s gone for good, and you won’t be able to recover it.

FAQ

  • How do I turn off screenshots on iPhone?

    There's no way to turn off screenshots on iPhone. However, on iOS 12 and later, you can make it so that screenshots are disabled when the screen is lit. Go to Settings > Display and Brightness and turn off Raise to Wake.

  • Why are my iPhone screenshots blurry?

    The Messages app has a Low-Quality Image Mode to save mobile data. If your screenshots look blurry when you send them in a message, go to Settings in the Messages app and turn off Low-Quality Image Mode.

  • How do I take long screenshots on my iPhone?

    If you want to take a full-page screenshot of a website, take a screenshot, then tap the preview in the corner before it disappears. Tap Full Page to save the page as a PDF. This option isn't available for all iPhones.

  • How do I delete screenshots on iPhone?

    To delete screenshots on iPhone, open the screenshot in the Photos app and tap the trash can. If you can't delete a photo, it is synced to your Mac. Connect your iPhone to your Mac, then delete the photo on both devices.

Source